Hand Painted French Provincial Desk

by homebeautifulca

This one of a kind four drawer French Provincial desk has a hand painted floral top. The grey and subtle green have been antiqued for an overall warmth that would be sure to compliment any home.  The desk's original brass hardware has been painted to match.

For Sale! This one of a kind four drawer French Provincial desk has a hand painted floral top. The grey and subtle green have been antiqued for an overall warmth that would be sure to compliment any home. The desk’s original brass hardware has been painted to match.

I don’t think I have painted a picture since grade nine art class so this project was a little daunting for me. My inspiration came from a picture of a pretty black and white fabric that I found online. Painting the flowers was time consuming. Overall I am pleased with the results, but found that some of my lines came out thick and I sanded the entire top down when I was through for a smoother surface. It resulted in a slightly distressed appearance which goes so well with the antiquing, I should have planned it that way.

I think that being able to do a one of a kind decorative piece is a wonderful idea, but I would be more keen on doing another one soon if I had an easier way. Those die cutting machines like the Cricut are tempting but so pricey! And then there would be the cost of purchasing vinyl for my templates. Not sure if this is something I want to invest in just yet.

Well, we’ve had two solid weeks of rain (and some snow) here and finally have a break in the weather. I think I will have to put the sunshine to good use and get the sander out. I have a small, heavily painted table with a wooden top I’m dying to uncover.

