Painted Piano Bench

by homebeautifulca

FOR SALE!  Refinished and distressed piano bench. Bird & floral details both inside and outside.  The black has lovely warm hues.

FOR SALE! Refinished and distressed piano bench. Bird & floral details both inside and outside. The black has lovely warm hues.

My second project. This one was a lot more work than the first. The bench had doubled as a work bench in someone’s garage and hadn’t been treated well. There were saw marks to prove it. My wonderful husband had fun dusting off the power tools to remove the original veneer and finish. We left some of the smaller flaws in for character since I was going to distress it anyway.

This was also my first attempt at stencilling, which didn’t turn out perfect but with the distressing and aging, didn’t seem to matter in the end. I really had my doubts about this piece in the beginning, but am so pleased with the result!

